Meet the Pooch!


And so as I’m traveling and not carrying my laptop, I was starting to miss Linux. I couldn’t install it on my wife’s work laptop either, so I was left to ponder a different solution: Live USBs.

The concept is to install Linux onto a USB stick and boot using the USB. Now that’s all good except that most Live USBs are based on the USB model and by default may not include the ability to save between reboots. The missing feature is called persistence. And so that lauched me into a search for something that would work.

It turns out the major distros have something available that helps. I tried Debian first – but by default the WiFi wouldn’t work, and I had to wire myself up, which didn’t seem very feasible. I figured Ubuntu possibly would work too, but I’ve really grown not to like Ubuntu lately. After some poking around I found Puppy Linux! And I love this pooch.

Cool things:
1. It’s damn small – 175 MB
2. Persistence is available by default
3. Everything works Out of the Box!
4. Extending it is extremely easy and adding more utilities is no hassle

So, here I am with this amazing pooch and Tux!

Leave a Reply

