Controlling app initialization order


I’ve been running into a regular problem with Squid proxy – I have to restart Squid for it to work. After putting in some thought I think I have a handle on the problem. When using wired connections, the ethernet is one of the first devices to be initialized. However,  WiFi ends up being the last device initialized. So perhaps I needed to just ensure that squid started after everything else was loaded. Easier said than done. I’ve been looking for an answer and now I hit upon this document!

http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/sect_04_02.html

So first I need to figure out my runlevel.

who -r

gives me the answer. It’s 2.

So going into rc2.d I just change the filename from whatever it was to S25squid or anything bigger than my network manager 🙂

I need to test this on more than one machine to ensure that it’s working!

Leave a Reply

