Lecture on Yoga Sutras of Patanjali


Attended a lecture on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali yesterday. It piqued my interest, so I went and picked up two books from the Khan Market on the subject. Yesterday’s speaker recommended Edwin Bryant’s “The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali” and while browsing, I came across another text with the same title, but with commentary by Swami Venkatesananda. The foreword was really well written and in the same form as a conversation, so I just had to pick it up.

Amazingly enough, or rather, as should’ve been expected, Yoga connects with Ayurveda because they seem to rest on the same principles but perhaps with different aims. I guess there’s quite a bit to study here. My main complaint around this is how unclear studying Indian philosophy/theology can be. I guess India’s always been one of those places where fact and fiction are a hair’s breadth apart. I expect I’ll be posting some more on this topic…

Leave a Reply

