Bitter Melon experiment


In a fit of creativity, I decided to try out cooking Karela aka Bitter Gourd. Yes, it’s really really really bitter. I was making a carrot soup, so I figured that the carrot would counter the bitterness. A good idea, but I ended up with bitter tasting carrot soup. I’ve seen people cook with it and reading up on the health benefit, this looks like a super-veggie!

After some looking I found some ways to remove the bitterness. I’ll try it out with the next batch, but here’s the methodology: http://bittermelon.org/learn/cookingbittermelon

Leave a Reply

