Gobi Aloo


Today, I wanted to try this recipe out! I’ve never cooked cauliflower.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Gobi-Aloo-Indian-Style-Cauliflower-with-Potatoes/Detail.aspx

I had to customize it and I did a lot of it by feel!

Ingredients:

  • 400g Cauliflower
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled
  • salt to taste
  • turmeric 1/2 tsp
  • cumin powder 1 tsp
  • cumin seeds 1 tsp
  • ghee 2 tbsp
  • chilli 1 tsp or to taste
  • chopped garlic 1 tsp

Recipe:

  1. Chop the potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes and cauliflower into similar cubes or cuts
  2. Add the oil to a pan and let it heat
  3. Add cumin seeds, garlic and chilli, let it fry for a couple of mins
  4. Add potatoes with the rest of the spices, except the salt. Stir vigorously and ensure that all the potatoes are coated evenly with the spices, keep covered for 5 mins
  5. Add in the cauliflower, followed by salt. Mix well
  6. Keep covered and stir occasionally. I expect this should take another 5-10 mins. Try a bit of the potato and cauliflower to confirm

I threw in some baladi bread in the oven. Quite a good mix. Yum.

I think tonight, I’ll have a salad.

I found this alternate recipe that looks interesting… I’ll try it next time:

http://www.food.com/recipe/Aloo-Gobi-84324

Leave a Reply

