Veggies in Oyester & Soy Sauce


After a friend mentioned cooking with Oyester sauce a few months ago, I decided to get some. After letting it crowd my kitchen, I decided to try it out. With no recipe at hand and one prior disaster with Soya, I was feeling quite cautious. Playing it safe meant that doing the basics first and trying the sauce out in small quantities.

So veggies – I had a random collection in my kitchen which fit the ibll:

  • 125 g fresh mushrooms
  • 150 g zucchini
  • 1 medium sized carrot
  • 100 g frozen green beans

So I chopped the veggies up nicely and added some oil to a pan. Started on medium heat and then added beans and carrots. Added a pinch of Monosodium Glutamate (Ajinomoto).

When they were halfway done, I added the zucchini and mushrooms. Cooked them well on oil and got them all a bit soggy looking. Then I added 2 spoons of Oyester sauce. That was nice and savory so I added some 2 tsps of soy sauce. Too salty so another 2 spoons of Oyester sauce. And behold food was ready. Eating it without rice or any carbs was fine. I had it with some leftover potato mash. Yum. Actually tastes better without much of anything else. Really!

Next ideas:

I got some chicken yesterday. I’ll chop into cubes and marinate it and some onions with Oyester + soy sauce and top it off with some sesame seeds!

Leave a Reply

