Thermomix Banana Chocolate Cake


After spending loads of time figuring out a recipe, I hit upon this one. It’s adapted from 2 recipes. One on allrecipes.com and another from here. Since I wanted the ease of Thermomix with a nearly brainless approach to it, I also had a look at my last post on baking for proportions and adjusted.

Here’s the one I ended up. And it looks great. I’ll tell you what it tastes like tonight.

Ingredients:

  • 300g flour
  • 210g sugar
  • 10g baking powder
  • 2g salt
  • 355g bananas (peeled)
  • 2 eggs
  • 200g melted butter
  • 95 ml milk – I used buttermilk instead of regular milk
  • 30g cocoa powder

On thermomix, use speed 5 or 6 for 20 seconds or until well mixed – which may be another 10 seconds. Pour batter into a lightly greased baking tin/pyrex bowl for 30-35 min bake on 180C. Re heat, I have a gas oven and no thermometer, so I just set it on mid low and went with it.

Results:

  • For such an easy recipe, it looks great. It cooked on time and I have no issues re lightness. Taste and other things to be determined today at cake cutting

Next step:

  • Experiment without banana

Update:

The cake tasted fine. It wasn’t as fluffy as I’d have liked it to be… I’m not sure why that was the case. One idea was that perhaps the whole mix was too heavy. Another was too much baking powder caused it to blow up and then fizz out.

When I first pulled the cake out, it looked nicely inflated. So my guess is that the reason it got so dense was that the mix was too heavy.. or perhaps I should’ve left it a bit longer in the oven??

Leave a Reply

