Noli nothi permittere te terere


As I’m trying to get work done, there are always some cool distractions available. I succumb to one as I write this. While attending a training today Alistair had a slide with the following phrase:

Nil Carborundum Illegitimi
Don’t let the bastards grind you down.

Well, I’ve been trying to get myself going with Latin, so this phrase seemed an awesome one to learn, but a bit odd sounding – missing a few bits. So quick search turned up that this one’s a latin-sounding phrase – which actually isn’t. An amazing explanation on wikipedia also found me the correct way of saying it!

Noli nothi permittere te terere.

I feel ever so educated now 🙂

Leave a Reply

