21 days or 28?


I was listening to a talk by Kevin Turner on leadership and while he dropped quite a few pearls of wisdom, one got stuck in my mind. Perhaps because it’s something I’m working on myself – forming habits.

The comment was, “It takes 21 days to form a habit.” Or so his mom said – and for him she recommended 28. When I heard it – the concept struck me as being simple. And thinking more on it, I guess it’s a elucidation of our internal processes around forming patterns. I’m hoping to develop some better patterns – notably sleep and exercise. With the sleep, I’m almost halfway through and with exercise, I’ve got another 8 weeks to go!

So, let’s aim for 21 and hope for the best!

Leave a Reply

