The latest dish


I hate it when I buy a ton of groceries and it all sits there rotting in my fridge because I haven’t made the time to cook. So, I wanted to make something with potatoes and spring onions. My mom gave me this excellent recipe which involves only 5 ingredients. I had 4! Somewhere, somehow, I’m missing the damned Coriander powder. Or Dhaniya as it is called in Hindi.

Ingredient list (I usually like it somewhat systematic):

  • Dried thai chilli (anything really) 1/2 of it – crushed
  • 1 heaped teaspoon coriander powder
  • 2 Cubed potatoes … hmm cubes, about a centimeter. Just not too big
  • Spring onions – like 200 gms?
  • Oil (3 tablespoons)
  • Salt – to taste
  • Turmeric – a pinch
  • Garlic – 2 cloves. Chopped.

Hmm, so that turned out to be a bit more than 5. Oh well, so after washing said Spring Onions, chop their heads off, then chop the rest into about 1 inch lengths. (1.52 cms) You can put away the cutting board now.

Now in a moderate sized pan, add the oil and allow it to heat up a bit. Add garlic, crushed chilli and coriander powder. Wait till the garlic goes a bit golden brown. Add potatoes and turmeric after. Mix it well and cover. Wait for about 4 mins or till the potatoes are half done.

Add Spring Onions, stir well. If you need to, add a bit more oil at this point. Cover again and let it cook. The spring onions should look well steamed and cooked. Try a bit, and if it’s too chewy, it’s not ready yet. Once it looks somewhat dispirited, you can add the salt to taste and you’re done. Eat that with some bread.

In my case though, I was missing the damn coriander powder. So I proceeded much the same, but after adding the onions, I added some Thyme and Oregano – 1/2 a teaspoon of each. I also added 2 diced tomatoes and some water. It stewed for a bit and turned into this gooey mix. Tasted quite good actually.

The original recipe for the spring onions can be used with green beans instead (same chopped up lenght), but at the end of it, you add some peeled and mashed tomatoes. That’s a favorite with me.

Happy cooking.

Leave a Reply

